Italy travel guide, vacation in Italy, holiday in Italy, tour of Italy, tourism Italy, booking hotel in Italy, rent a car Italy, fly to Italy, Incoming Italy, Wedding in Italy, Weather Italy, Images Italy
» Home » Italy travel guide language:
Travel guide Italy vacation in Italy holiday in Italy tourism ItalyBooking Hotel Italy Farm holiday Italy rental houses Italy rent a home Italy camping Italy real estate Italy travel Guide tourism hotel camping farm holiday beauty farm resort

Italy travel guide

There are 20 regions in Italy, each one has its own government and a local system of autonomy both in the province and in the individual municipalities. It is an expression of the history of the country; since the Roman Empire was conquered by foreign tribes, it remained divided into autonomous states, duchies, kingdoms, and principalities for centuries, until its relatively recent unification in 1861.
Every region deserves a visit: for its sea, or the mountains, the climate, the people, the food and the natural and artistic beauties.

Search the last-minute offered in the best hotels of Italy
Scopri la cucina italiana con tante ricette per tutti i gusti.
» Images » Map » Weather
Aosta Valley
The Aosta Valley is a mountainous Region in north-western Italy. It is bordered by France to the west, Switzerland to the north and the region of Piedmont to the south and east.
With an area of 3,263 km² and a population of about 120,000, it is the smallest, least po ...
Region of north western Italy, at the foot of the Alps, bordering with France.
A prevalently hilly and mountainous land, Piedmont is encircled by the Alps, the Po Valley and the Apennines.

Lowland Piedmont is a fertile agricultural region, producing wheat, rice, maize, and wine grapes. ...
Lombardy is situated in the northwest of Italy and is one of the peninsula’s few landlocked regions.

Lombardy is famous for possessing the largest area covered by lakes, including Lake Maggiore and the beautiful Boromee Islands; Lake Como, which bathes the cities ...
Trentino-Alto Adige is an autonomous region in Northern Italy. It consists of two provinces: Trento and Bolzano, where in the latter the majority of the population speak German as their first language. The region was part of Austria-Hungary (and its predecessor, the Austrian Empire) fr ...
Veneto is located in the northeastern part of Italy, bordering on the Italian regions of Emilia-Romagna and Lombardy, the autonomous Italian regions of Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol and Friuli Venezia Giulia, and the nation of Austria. It lies between the Alps and the Adriatic Sea and is cross ...
Liguria is a coastal region of north-western Italy, the third smallest of the Italian regions.This region is divided into four provinces: Genova (the capital), Imperia, La Spezia e Savona.

A mountainous and hilly land, Liguria is bounded to the south by the Ligurian Sea ...
Friuli Venezia Giulia
Friuli-Venezia Giulia is one of the twenty regions of Italy, and one of five autonomous regions with special statute. The capital is Trieste.

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is divided into four provinces: Gorizia, Pordenone, Trieste e Udine

The name comes from the Latin name o ...
It's the northernmost region of Central Italy: its capital is Florence, which is located almost 300 kilometres from the national capital, Rome.
Tuscany is known for its landscapes and its artistic legacy. Six Tuscan localities have been made UNESCO protected sites: the historical ...
Emilia Romagna
Friendly land, a land "with a soul", Emilia Romagna offers magnificent places to discover, treasures of art, beautiful panoramas. It is formed by two historical regions, Emilia, that is the western part, and the area towards the Adriatic sea, Romagna. Most of the cities was founded by ...
Umbria is a region of Central Italy, bordered by the Marches, Tuscany and Lazio. Umbria's predominantly hilly terrain makes it the only region on the peninsula with no access to the sea.

Stone villages that seem to be real nativity scenes. Fortresses and castles on the hilltops. Conv ...
Region of central Italy bordering on the Adriatic Sea, at the same longitude as Umbria and Tuscany.
Prevalently hilly and mountainous, the territory of Marche embraces the Adriatic side of the Apennines running through Umbria and Marche, with low sandy beaches on the coast.

The Marche ...
Region of central Italy bordering on the Tyrrhenian Sea. Rome, the nation’s capital, is in Lazio.

Lazio is important for history, art, architecture, archaeology, religion and culture in general. The immense patrimony of Rome is only a part of the real treasure that is spread over the ...
Sardinia is the second largest Italian and Mediterranean island. It is situated directly below Liguria and parallel to the Bay of Naples.
At the beginning of the nuragic age circa 1500 BC the island was first called Hyknusa (Latinized Ichnusa) by the Mycenaeans probably meaning is ...
Campania is a region of Southern Italy, bordering on Latium to the north-west, Molise to the north, Apulia to the north-east, Basilicata to the east, and the Tyrrhenian Sea to the west. The region covers 13,595 km² and has a population of 5.8 million.
The name derives from Latin, as it w ...
Abruzzo is a region of Italy bordering Marche to the north, Lazio to the west and south-west, Molise to the south-east and the Adriatic Sea to the east. Until 1963 it was part of the Abruzzi e Molise region (with Molise). The term Abruzzi is an obsolete plural denomination from a time when th ...
Molise is a region of South Central Italy, the second smallest of the regions. It was formerly (until 1963) part of the region of Abruzzi e Molise (with Abruzzo) and now a separate entity.

Some observers have said that the province is de-populated, but for that very reason it has a c ...
Basilicata is a region in the south of Italy, bordering on Campania to the west, Puglia (Apulia) to the east, Calabria to the south, it has one short coastline on the Tyrrhenian Sea and another of the Gulf of Taranto in the Ionian Sea to the south-east. The region covers 9,992 km² and in 2001 ...
Apulia is mostly a plain (see Tavoliere delle Puglie); its low coast, however, is broken by the mountainous Gargano Peninsula in the north, and there are mountains in the north central part of the region. Other important centers are Alberobello, Andria, Barletta, Canosa, Conversano, Franca ...
Calabria, is a region in southern Italy which occupies the 'toe' of the Italian peninsula south of Naples. It is bounded to the north by the region of Basilicata, to the south-west by the region of Sicily, to the west by the Tyrrhenian Sea, and to the east by the Ionian Sea. The region covers ...
The pearl of Southern Italy, it is the largest island in the Mediterranean, separated from Calabria (and the continent) by the Strait of Messina.
It is predominantly hilly and washed by the Ionian, Tyrrhenian and Sea and the Sea of Sicily. It also includes the Aeolian Islands, the Aeg ...